Medical Council of Canada

Council Committee membership

Council and Committee membership

New governance

During the Medical Council of Canada (MCC)’s 108th Annual Meeting held on October 3-4, the Council voted to move to a smaller and skills-based Council. As of October 5,  2020, we have begun the process of moving to this more modern, agile and responsive governance model that will facilitate creative collaboration within Council, within the organization, with stakeholders and ultimately, for the benefit of everyone living in Canada. We are working on updating all information found on this page and will be posting the new information as soon as possible.

Executive Board

President Dr. Jay Rosenfield
Vice-President Dr. Bruce Wright
Chair of Finance Dr. Heidi Oetter
Members Dr. Theresa Farrell, Dr. Cyril Moyse, Dr. Geneviève Grégoire, Dr. Scott McLeod


Members of Council
Members at Large From – To
Ms. Rose Carter 2007-2023
Ms. Kate Wood 2019-2022
Mr. Brian Mazer 2014–2022


 Medical Regulatory Authorities Members From – To
Newfoundland Dr. Linda Inkpen 2014–2020
Dr. Oscar Howell 2018–2022
P.E.I. Dr. Cyril A. Moyse 1988–2020
Dr. Geraldine Johnston 2002–2022
Nova Scotia Dr. Douglas Grant 2011–2022
Dr. Keri McAdoo 2018–2022
New Brunswick Dr. Edmund G.A. Schollenberg 1992–2020
Dr. John C. McCrea 2002–2023
Quebec Dr. Anne-Marie MacLellan 2006–2022
Dr. Martin Laliberté 2017–2022
Ontario Dr. Nancy Whitmore 2018–2020
Dr. Janet van Vlymen 2017–2023
Manitoba Dr. Anna Ziomek 2015–2023
Dr. Eric Sigurdson 2018-2022
Saskatchewan Dr. Karen Shaw 2011–2022
Dr. Edward Tsoi 2004–2020
Alberta Dr. Scott McLeod 2017–2021
Dr. Karen Mazurek 2012–2020
British Columbia Dr. Heidi Oetter 2008–2020
Ms. Corinne de Bruin 2016–2020
Yukon Territory Dr. Daniel Carew 2018–2020
Northwest Territories Dr. Theresa Farrell 2007–2023
Dr. Bing Guthrie 2011–2020
Nunavut Dr. Francois de Wet 2019–2022
Dr. Patricia DeMaio 2006–2022


 University Members From – To
Memorial Dr. Cathy Vardy 2000–2020
Dalhousie Dr. Simon Field 2007–2023
Laval Dr. Ghislain Brousseau 2016–2022
Sherbrooke Dr. Colette Girardin 2016–2022
McGill Dr. Beth-Ann Cummings 2019–2021
Montreal Dr. Geneviève Grégoire 2014–2020
Ottawa Dr. Melissa Forgie 2011–2020
Queen’s Dr. Anthony Sanfilippo 2008–2020
Toronto Dr. Patricia Houston 2017–2020
McMaster Dr. Rob Whyte 2016–2020
Western Dr. Jay Rosenfield 2004–2020
Northern Ontario Dr. Tara Baldisera 2019–2021
Manitoba Dr. Maury Pinsk 2019–2023
Saskatchewan Dr. Kent Stobart 2017–2021
Alberta Dr. Tracey Hillier 2015–2020
Calgary Dr. Chris Naugler 2019–2023
British Columbia Dr. Bruce Wright 2006–2023


 Student and Resident Members From – To
Student Ms. Victoria Januszkiewicz 2019–2020
Mr. Maxime Morin-Lavoie 2019–2020
Resident Dr. Seyara Shwetz 2019–2020
Dr. Jean-Sébastien Otis-Carrasqueira 2018–2020
Standing committees of Council
Appeals Committee
Chair Ms. Rose Carter
Vice-Chair Dr. Kent Stobart
Members Ms. Kate Wood
Dr. Tara Baldisera
Dr. Cathy Vardy
Ms. Corinne de Bruin
Dr. Melissa Forgie
Dr. Colette Girardin
Mr. Brian Mazer
Dr. Ghislain Brousseau


Finance Committee
Chair Dr. Heidi Oetter
Vice-Chair Ms. Rose Carter
Members Dr. Jay Rosenfield
Dr. Cathy Vardy
Dr. Karen Mazurek


Legislation Committee
Chair Dr. Bruce Wright
Vice-Chair Dr. Anne-Marie MacLellan
Members Ms. Corinne de Bruin
Dr. Tracey Hillier
Dr. Edward Tsoi
Dr. Eric Sigurdson
Dr. Melissa Forgie
Dr. John McCrea
Dr. Douglas Grant
Dr. Geraldine Johnston
Dr. Linda Inkpen
Dr. Daniel Carew
Dr. Theresa Farrell
Dr. Patricia DeMaio
Mr. Brian Mazer


 Nominating Committee
Chair Dr. Karen Shaw
Members Dr. Douglas Grant
Dr. Simon Field
Dr. Colette Girardin


Research and Development Committee
Chair Dr. Anthony Sanfilippo
Vice-Chair Dr. Karen Mazurek
Members Dr. Bruce Wright
Dr. Anne-Marie MacLellan
Dr. Chris Naugler
Dr. Jay Rosenfield
Dr. Simon Field
Dr. Beth-Ann Cummings


 Selection Committee
Chair Dr. Geraldine Johnston
Vice-Chair Dr. Collette Girardin
Members Dr. Beth-Ann Cummings
Dr. Edward Tsoi
Dr. Tara Baldisera
Dr. Theresa Farrell


 Central Examination Committee
Chair Dr. Pier Bryden
Vice-Chair Dr. Teresa Cavett
Blueprint Committee
Blueprint Committee
Chair Dr. Nancy Brager
Members Dr. Alan Neville
Dr. Ian Johnson
Dr. Preston Tran
Dr. Teresa Cavett
Dr. Nathalie Saad
Dr. Kent Stobart
Dr. Isabelle Desjardins

Click to view Test Committee memberships.