Medical Council of Canada



Dr. Jay Rosenfield, President


Following the meeting of Council on September 25, 2018, the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) welcomed Dr. Jay Rosenfield, Vice-Dean of Medical Education at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry at Western University in London, Ontario as the new Council President. Dr. Rosenfield has served on Council since 2004 and was Vice-President last year.

Dr. Rosenfield is a Professor of Paediatrics, and served as Vice-Dean, MD Program in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto from 2006-2016. He is a national leader in medical education, having co-lead the Future of Medical Education in Canada (FMEC) – MD Project of the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada, and co-leading the implementation of the Transitions Recommendation of the FMEC – PG project. He has recently chaired a Task Force for the AFMC charged with review and revisions of Undergraduate Medicine Accreditation in Canada. He has been a council member of the Medical Council of Canada since 2004 and now sits on its Executive Board. He is a member of the College of Physician and Surgeons of Ontario Registration Committee.

Dr. Rosenfield graduated from the Royal Conservatory of Music/University of Toronto with a diploma in piano performance in 1978, and then completed Medical School at the University of Toronto in 1982. He is certified in Paediatrics by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and the American Board of Pediatrics, and received a Masters of Education degree from the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) in 1998.

A developmental paediatrician and clinician-educator, he has had active appointments at both The Hospital for Sick Children and Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital and has served as Co-Director of the Developmental Paediatric Fellowship Program.

Dr. Maureen Topps, Executive Director and CEO


The Medical Council of Canada (MCC) welcomed Dr. Maureen Topps as its new Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer on October 1, 2018. Dr. Topps, who served as Chair of the MCC National Assessment Central Coordinating Committee (NAC3) and Council member from 2009 to 2011, succeeded to Dr. Ian Bowmer.

Dr. Topps completed her medical degree at Aberdeen University in Scotland. After nearly ten years of rural practice, she was appointed Program Director in Family Medicine at the University of Calgary. Dr. Topps was later named the inaugural Associate Dean of Postgraduate Education at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine in 2005.

In 2011, Dr. Topps served as the Executive Director of the Government of Alberta’s International Medical Graduate Program. She was subsequently appointed Associate Dean Postgraduate Medical Education at the Cumming School of Medicine and, most recently, Senior Associate Dean Education.

Dr. Topps has worked extensively with national stakeholder organizations. She was a member of the Postgraduate Medical Education Committee at the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC), and Vice-Chair of the Residency Program Accreditation Committee as well as Chair of the International Program Review Committee at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC).

Awarded Fellowship of the CFPC in 2002, Dr. Topps was recently recognised by the Royal College for her various activities, with the designation of Honorary Fellow.

The Council

The Medical Council of Canada’s (MCC) policy direction is set by its Council, which has 50 positions, including a position for:

  • Two appointees from each provincial and territorial medical regulatory authority
  • One member from each university in Canada that has a medical school
  • Up to five members from the public
  • Two student members, and two postgraduate resident members

Council typically meets once a year at its Annual Meeting.

The Executive Board of Council is composed of the President, Vice-President, Immediate Past-President, the Chair of the Finance Committee, the Public Member at Large, and four other members of Council elected at the Annual Meeting. The duties of the Executive Board include developing policy proposals for consideration by the Members of Council, assisting with the implementation of policy and external liaison activities, managing the assets of the Council, and adopting and approving an annual budget that will be reported at the Annual Meeting.

Council’s direction is carried out by the administrative staff at the MCC as well as by the Central Examination Committee (CEC). The CEC is responsible for the overall content and quality of the examinations, and for determining the pass or fail standard to be applied to candidates who have attempted each administration of the MCC Qualifying Examination Part I and Part II.

To maintain objectivity and independence, no individual can be on Council in addition to being part of the CEC or the MCC’s test committees.

How are Council members appointed?

Council members are appointed by a provincial or territorial medical regulatory authority or a faculty of medicine at a Canadian university. Student members are appointed by the Canadian Federation of Medical Students and the Fédération médicale étudiante du Québec whereas postgraduate resident members are appointed by the Resident Doctors of Canada and the Fédération des médecins résidents du Québec.

The members at large are usually nominated by members of academic and regulatory organizations. The submissions are reviewed and selected by the Nominating Committee. The nomination must be subsequently approved by Council at the Annual Meeting.